The EUIPO was founded way back in 1994. The EUIPO was formerly known as the Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market (OHIM). The name was changed to EUIPO since 2016. This EU agency was established for the purpose of registration of EU Trade Mark (EUTM) and the registered Community Design (RCD). These two are the forms of IP present across all the 28 countries of the EU. The EUIPO also maintains an Orphan Works Registry. The headquarters of EUIPO is in Alicante, Spain.


The main function of the Office is to register EUTM and RCD and to grant exclusive rights for Trade Mark and Design throughout EU, with a single application. It also works to harmonise the process of registration and development of common IP tools.


The Council of the EU created the EUTM as a legal instrument and established the EUIPO with a legal standing.

Council Regulation (EC) No 6/2002 of 12 December 2001 created the registered Community design.

On 23 March 2016, the Office changed its name to the European Union Intellectual Property Office upon the entry into force of Regulation 2015/2424.


The EUIPO consists of a Management Board and a Budget Committee with one representative from each Member State, two representatives from the European Commission(EC) and one from the European Parliament.

The OHIM Board of Appeal is an administrative law body of the Office for Harmonization in the Internal Market (OHIM), which is responsible for deciding on appeals in trade mark and design matters registered in the European Union.


The Presidium oversees the rules and organisation of the Boards of Appeal. The Presidium consists of the President, he Chairpersons and three board members elected for one calendar year.